Jeff Gordon, Howard Hughes among selections for Motorsports Hall of Fame


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Four-time NASCAR champion Jeff Gordon and record-setting pilot and eccentric billionaire Howard Hughes are among seven people selected for the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.

The 2018 class was announced Friday at Daytona International Speedway.

The other inductees are drag racing car builder John Buttera, Indianapolis Motor Speedway founder Carl G. Fisher, motorcycle great Fred Merkel, three-time Indianapolis 500 champion owner U.E. “Pat” Patrick and sports-car legend Bob Tullius.

They will be inducted March 13 in Daytona Beach.

Hall of Fame President Ron Watson calls the joint selection of Hughes and Gordon “probably the best example we’ve ever had to illustrate the breadth of our inductee roll.”

The Hall changed the date of its induction to better coincide with all the motorsports races and activities in Florida in March.

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Sunil Gulati: Perceptions of U.S. affecting 2026 World Cup bid
Theo Walcott completes £20 million move from Arsenal to Everton
Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp – We showed we can play without Philippe Coutinho
Carmelo Anthony of Oklahoma City Thunder says he’s accepted role and game is ‘fun again’
Bordeaux’s Malcom asking questions about future amid Premier League links – boss

Leave a Reply